Serving: Calhoun, Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt, Wood Counties in West Virginia
In August of 2005, Congress passed the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient, Transportation, Equity Act: A Legacy for Users (SAFETEA-LU), reauthorizing the surface transportation act. As part of this reauthorization, grantees under the Elderly Individuals and Individuals with Disabilities (Section 5310), Job Access and Reverse Commute (JARC) (Section 5316), and New Freedom Initiative (Section 5317) grant programs must meet certain requirements in order to receive funding for fiscal 2007 (beginning 10/1/06) and beyond.

One of the SAFETEA-LU requirements is that projects from the programs listed above must be part of a “locally developed Coordinated Public Transit-Human Services Transportation Plan.” This Coordinated Plan is required to be developed through a process that includes representatives of public, private, and non-profit transportation services, human services providers and the general public.

The Mid-Ohio Valley Regional Council (MOVRC) and WWW have taken the lead for developing this plan for the eight counties that makes up the MOVRC area. The counties include (in alphabetical order): Calhoun, Jackson, Pleasants, Ritchie, Roane, Tyler, Wirt, and Wood Counties in West Virginia. This plan will be broken up into individual county plans for each of the eight counties, and will have a chapter discussing the regional possibilities and implications of coordination, and establishing a regional coordination plan.

The plan is available for review by clicking the link below.

WV Region 5 Transportation Coordination Plan 2015 (5.1 MB ZIP file)
Washington County Updated Transportation Coordination Plan Update 2015 PUBLIC INVOLVMENT PROCESS CONTINUING until August 28, 2015, feel free to comment (7.1 MB PDF file)